Plants in need of help! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-31-2017, 07:27 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Plants in need of help!

Hello all!

I'm new to the planted aquaria world and was hoping to get some guidance on how to save my freshwater aquarium plants from dying.

The specifics: I have a low tech 75 gallon tank with a fluval Fx6 and a Fluval 306 pushing a Coralife 36 watt UV light and a 48" Satellite USA freshwater LED light. I have a couple inches of gravel as substrate. I don't have the ambition of a full-fledged planted tank.... yet. Once I do, I plan on getting a full blown Co2 system. As long as my fish is alive, my main concern is keeping him happy with the conditions he needs to thrive. I do on the other hand love the look of live plants and I am really hoping I could successfully save my current stock of plants and have them thrive as well as they possibly can with the below mentioned water parameter's.

In terms of plants, I've got one large anubias plant that is doing just okay. I also have purchased quite a bit of anubias nana that I've super glued (seachem glue) on a terra-cotta pot with the hope of the anubias nana growing all over the pot. I've sawed off the back end of the pot so my fish can use the pot as a cave. I also have a couple bunches of jungle Val that I just introduced yesterday. I don't plan on introducing any more plants.