First Medium Tech Planted Tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-18-2010, 12:31 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
First Medium Tech Planted Tank

I was wondering if I could get some help with my tank. It is a 120 gallon that is 5 feet long. For lighting I have two 30" lights that run two 18w full spectrum bulbs and two atinics(for color of fish) and two 48"lights with 54w 6400k bulbls, all lights are T5s. I have a Fluval FX5 filter. Two 300w heaters. Substrate is Shultzs aqua soil and a layer of gravel on top. I have a CO2 system coming that has a milwakie regulator with nedle valve and silanoid and a glass difuser. I am hoping to have a carpet of dwarf hair grass and some other plants, maybe some crypts. Just wondering if I could get any sugestions on the setup. Is that equipment good or is there some thing that I should change. I am kinda new to the planted tank thing, I have had a few tanks with java fern and java moss, but Like the look of the planted tanks. Any help? Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-18-2010, 12:48 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
It sounds like you have a pretty good set up planned out. It's too bad there isn't a 5' t5ho light. You should be able to get all those lights arranged in such a way to provide good coverage though.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-18-2010, 12:58 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

yes I have the two 30" lights beside each other, so that makes it 60". And then the two 4 foot lights are staggered so that there is a 3 foot overlap.

post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-18-2010, 12:40 PM
Fresh Fish Freak

PTrader: (70/100%)
Your setup sounds pretty good to me.

Do you have your plants picked out?

Are there fish already in the tank?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Next meeting Monday, Oct 13, 2014 @ 7:15pm- See ya there!