why is it necessary to do weekly 50% water changes? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-12-2010, 09:03 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (15/100%)
why is it necessary to do weekly 50% water changes?

sorry if thats a silly q to you guys..im new to this. i keep reading on many many posts about doing a 50% weekly water changes if i have high light,fertz,co2 etc... and even to do it with a low light setup i think.

my understanding was that the fish and fertz and co2 provide the nutrients which the plants take up..in the process they take up ammonia and nitrites which r toxic to fish at small levels but the plants use them for nutrients.

my question is... why do i have to do weekly water changes instead of doing a water change only when my nitrAte levels start getting too high?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-12-2010, 09:28 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicks7.1985 View Post
sorry if thats a silly q to you guys..im new to this. i keep reading on many many posts about doing a 50% weekly water changes if i have high light,fertz,co2 etc... and even to do it with a low light setup i think.

my understanding was that the fish and fertz and co2 provide the nutrients which the plants take up..in the process they take up ammonia and nitrites which r toxic to fish at small levels but the plants use them for nutrients.

my question is... why do i have to do weekly water changes instead of doing a water change only when my nitrAte levels start getting too high?
For a planted tank 25% every 1 -2 weeks is sufficient - solely depending on stocking levels of course.

50% water changes is for discus really, and you never use so much fert that the fish suffer.
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-12-2010, 09:30 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (83/100%)