Newbie plant buying advice - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-29-2010, 05:07 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (3/100%)
Newbie plant buying advice

I'm sure you get this all the time, but I'm a newbie trying to figure everything out. I've been reading through the forum for the last week or so and I'm still trying to catch my breath. I've kept tanks in the past, and had a fw live plants mixed in with my plastics, but this will be my first shot at a full live tank. I've got a 75 gallon tank that I'm looking to fill with plants. Right now I'm running 2 48" T8 bulbs 32w at 6500K I'm considering adding 1 to 2 more 48" T8 bulbs. I don't want to go too far with the light because I don't want to have to add CO2.

Now I know very little about the individual plants, so I was considering ordering one of the plant packages that some places sale. I've seen packages at aquariumplants and freshwateraquariumplants. The packages I'm looking at come with around 50 plants. So my question is does anybody have any experiences with these dealears? Are these packages a good place to start or should I try to figure out what plants to get and build my own package? Is there a better place to look for a plant assortment package?

Thanks in Advance
Ben
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-29-2010, 05:27 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (18/100%)
If you find a package that you like they should say what plants come in it. Write them down and post a WTB thread on the S&S. That is by far the best way to get plants. You will recieve better looking plants and more, for less money.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-29-2010, 05:29 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (110/100%)