When to use Seachem Flourish? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-22-2010, 10:24 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
When to use Seachem Flourish?

Hi all, I'm new to setting up a planted tank. Just finished setting up the tank today. I'm not sure what plants I bought because the LFS doesn't label them. Those that were tied to driftwood I left tied, those that were in pots I removed and planted in the soil.

I also bought Seachem Flourish on the advice of the LFS. My question is, do I dose the tank now with the flourish or wait for a few weeks?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-22-2010, 11:20 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (18/100%)
You can start dosing as per the bottles instructions.

If you can put up pictures of the plants I'm 100% postive that people can help you out and tell you what they are.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-22-2010, 12:27 PM
tug
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (1/100%)
Never! Just kidding, the dose depends on your tank size. The larger the tank the more expensive Seachem becomes and dry fertilizer (KNO3, KH2PO4, CSM+B) becomes a more attractive option. Start adding fertilizer right away, but Seachem Flourish is primarily a nutrient source for trace. Depending on what else you have going on (light, CO2, GH, etc.) you are going to need macronutrients as well. Fish and fish food can provide some nutrients, but you might want to add a GH booster like Equilibrium with your water change. Personaly, I find the directions with some Seachem products diffucult to understand. This link will take you to a nutrient calculator. http://www.fishfriend.com/fertfriend.html