Advice for first set up ? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-18-2010, 08:54 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Advice for first set up ?

I am studying now for my first planted tank set up. I am going to turn my saltwater tank into a planted freshwater system. I had the saltwater reef setup for the past 7 years and before that I have had many freshwater systems but never with live plants. I'm seeking any advice for a rookie.
I heard planting everything at once in the begining is best
My equipment;
125 gallon display tank-predrilled
two 35 gallon refugiums / sumps connected
( I know those are typically salterwater filters but I use 100 micron filter pads in one and 200 micron filter sock in the other ) I have a chamber that can be used for media in the sump too. I am willing if needed to swap my filteration system. I would go with a high tech large canister. I had a lot of experience with them but i can easily change out the filters every few days with the other system. )
three 175 watt metal halides with four seperate 96 watt accent lights.
I know I will need to stick with high light plants.
Any suggestions ?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-18-2010, 09:09 PM
Are these real?

PTrader: (194/100%)
I'd recommend to revamp your light setup. For reefs, more = better. Not so for planted tanks. Especially if you are starting out with plants (and algae) you don't really want to go overboard with lights. Even the 4x 96W "accent lights" would be too much really.

I'd sell the lights and go with a T5 HO setup, perhaps a 4 bulb one where you can start initially with two bulbs, and after a few months when things are balanced out you can add the other bulbs.

You will need to read up on fertilizer dosing (NPK & micros) and CO2 injection...

Good luck and welcome to the Planted Tank!