Weight distribution in aquarium stands - using a big stand for a small tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-22-2017, 06:20 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Weight distribution in aquarium stands - using a big stand for a small tank

Hello. I am a newbie* who just bought a 40 gallon breeder tank and wants to get into this hobby. I had a question about stands if I may beg your indulgence.

Somewhere, I read someone give a piece of advice to newcomers saying that when they were starting out, they wished they had bought a stand larger than what they needed, so that they could upgrade their tank more cheaply.

Although I bought a 40g breeder, I intended to buy one of PetSmart's Marco 75-90g stands (49" long x 19" wide), so I could easily upgrade to a 75g if I take to the hobby (and it takes to me!) I figured since the stand has a solid top, and since its width is correct for the 40g breeder, who cares if it is a foot longer than my 36" tank?

Then it suddenly dawned on me that, even with a solid top, these stands may be designed to support the weight on their outside edge, and that having a tank that is 12" short may pose a problem in terms of the structural integrity of the stand.

Does anyone have any thoughts? I am not averse to screwing in some additional support under the top, but I do not know how particle board would take to that.

Thank you. This site is an incredible resource.

*-Well I had a 10 gallon tank when I was a kid 30 years ago and having spent weeks reading this site, I have since learned I did literally everything wrong.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-22-2017, 09:57 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
This depends a lot on how the stand is constructed. Many stands have most of the support around the edges, where they expext the tank to be.