light? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-17-2010, 03:09 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
light?

Ok, I'm a noob so this question may not even make sense, but please work with me here. I have a 20 gallon high . The lighting is T8 15W Halogen at 8000k(what does that even mean?) and 18". I think about 2-2.5W per gallon would be nice, so what way do you reccomend I go? Really good light fixtures out there that fit my needs? Any links? Light reccomendations? Anything you have to offer will be highly appreciated, thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-17-2010, 03:15 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (18/100%)
https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/li...ens-watts.html do some research on what how your tank is going to be set up then post so u can get the correct answers for your tank. welcome to the forum
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-17-2010, 03:22 AM
Fresh Fish Freak

PTrader: (70/100%)
Welcome to TPT!

Right now you have a very low light fixture. There are some plants that would do well at that light level (Java ferns, Anubias, mosses, Crypts, chain swords).

The fixture you have is a 15 watt T8 fixture. You could replace that with a dual bulb T8 fixture (so 30 watts total) and that would greatly increase the # of species of plants you could keep and the plants will grow much more quickly, but you'd still have a low light tank so you would not absolutely need to add CO2 to the tank if you don't want to.

If you put much more light over the tank, you'll be getting into "medium" and "high" light setups- where you'll have to add CO2 and get a good, balanced fertilizer regimen worked out to support the plants.

So your biggest decision right now is- what type of tank set up do you want to shoot for- low light (no CO2 needed), medium light (DIY CO2 would work) or high light (you'd need to invest $200-300 for a pressurized CO2 setup)?