hey guys!! New 30 gallon! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-15-2010, 09:36 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
hey guys!! New 30 gallon!

Hello members. My names Mike, I'm new to the freshwater planted aquarium. I've been doing salt water aquariums for about 2 years now and I upped to a 55 salt and have a 30 left over(fully cleaned ready to go).

I have a 30 gallon aquarium with a coralife aqualight > T5 > 2x31Watts > 1 10k and 1 actinic Bulb. Do I keep the 10k and what do i replace the actinic bulb with? Colormax lamp? Will this be enough for plant growth?

I have a Marineland 200 rated for 50 gallons. Would that be a good filter? Or should i upgrade.

Also, what would you guys suggest being the best substrate. I went to petco and saw these type of live black sand that looked very nice, but I'm not sure if theirs are considered good. I wanted to buy this ---> http://www.petco.com/product/111998/...elandSubtrates ...How many pounds?

What type of c02 system for 30 gallon?

I have two 50w Rena smart heaters each rated at 20g. Should i use both? Whats a temperature supposedly to usually be around?

Thanks alot guys! I appreciate it! Any advice would be great.

Last edited by EaZy DuZ iT; 07-15-2010 at 06:23 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-15-2010, 10:27 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Hey there Eazy,
I will give you my 2 cents worth, although others may disagree with me.
I would use whatever you have available to do the job.
I think the marineland 200 will do the job OK as long as the water flow is adjustable for your needs (not being too powerful). I like canister filters myself because they have more biological area. I have used hang on and cans simultaneously too.
I have injected co2 from a coke bottle yeast reactor right into the intake of the filter and have the impeller work as a reactor. You can buy fancy equipment if you want.