Starting New 30 Gallon Classroom Tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-14-2010, 07:35 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Starting New 30 Gallon Classroom Tank

HI!
I'm a student at my local community college and my secondary Biology class is planning a planted tank. We are planning on having two medium size peices of driftwood and TONS of plants in the aquascape. The intended fish are small community fish i.e. zebra danios, rosy barbs, dwarf gouramis, and oto cats. Suggestions on plant species?

I donated my old 30 gallon tank to the project as well as a H.O.T. Magnum canister filter (rated 250gallons per hour) and a 100w heater.
From what I've gathered, we still need to invest in a glass canopy, a light fixture with bulbs suitable for a plants to thrive, planting substrate, and possibly a CO2 system. Also, since we're going "no-holds-barred" I was considering a substrate heater as well. Is this worth the hassle?

I found a light fixture but I honestly don't know if that is overkill for a tank with 30x12 surface area. Is 130 watts too much? Not enough? If anyone has suggestions on a better lighting option and what bulbs would be good, PLEASE feel free to share.

CO2? or NO? Is it necessary in this case? The tank is supposed to be heavily planted, and have a full bioload of fish.

ANY and ALL help is appreciated!!! My class is really excited about this project and the wisdom of more experienced aquarists is appreciated in making this tank as successful as possible!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-14-2010, 10:52 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (5/100%)
Send a message via AIM to VadimShevchuk Send a message via Skype™ to VadimShevchuk