How to cure manzanita from Blooms & Branches? - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By H2O Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-14-2017, 12:33 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
How to cure manzanita from Blooms & Branches?

Hey all, after reading some of the suggestions on this forum for affordable driftwood I just ordered some 24" mazanita branches from Blooms & Branches. This is my first time working with driftwood that hadn't already been in an established aquarium. How should I go about curing pieces this large? Also, I've read of a few people getting fresh cut branches from craft suppliers instead of dried branches and it was damaging to their tank. What should I be looking for to make sure it's safe?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-14-2017, 01:58 PM
Planted Member

I've ordered from them a few times. They don't treat the wood with anything so to keep it aquarium safe. However if you're goal is to remove as much of the tannins as possible that's a different matter and can be logistically difficult. You could soak it in a clean garbage bin, which does take time. Or you can boil it, which takes a very large pot. I've done this before using tongs to turn it every hour or so as you rarely will have a piece that will wholly submerge. Also, as @Nordic has pointed out, and something I never considered and should have, you might not wish to use an expensive pot when doing this as tannins can stain. I've never had a problem with this but depending on how long you let it sit I can see where this could be one.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-14-2017, 02:21 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (12/100%)