New to planted tanks - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-06-2010, 10:14 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to planted tanks

Hello everyone!

I am fairly new to planted tanks and have had mine for about 5 months. Unfortuantely, I have run into a few problems. First off, here is my set-up:

55 Gallon
Lighting: Nova Extreme 108W T5HO (10,000k bulb and Freshwater (pink) bulb) 8 hours a day.
Nutrients: Dosing 5ml of macros and micros per day using PPS-Pro method
Co2: 5m of Seachem Excel each day
Plants: 1 large bunch of rotala, 2 Echinodorous swords, 1 medium-large amazon sword, 1 red tiget lotus (8 leaves), 1 medium anubias, Dwarf sag (Many)

Since starting, I have tun into problems will all sorts of algaes, coming and going (bba and hair algae). I have had brown and green algae on the glass ever since starting.

Basically, I was wondering: Should I add more plants? Add some ottos? Both? What kinds of plants would be best for my set-up? How can I find the right balance of nutrients, co2, and lighting?

thank you so much for all the help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-06-2010, 10:36 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (59/100%)
welcome to the site!

does the brown algae come off like dust? if so its dust algae, if not probably diatoms otos wouldnt hurt
is it green spot algae?

bba is co2 issue. i dont know if 5ml of excel is enough but i cant remember how much they tell you to dose.

to get a better balance you could try ei dosing
http://www.barrreport.com/showthread...ss-techy-folks
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-06-2010, 10:46 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

The brown algae comes off fairly easily, and seems to be more like dust algae. I also forgot to mention that the brown agae is on the leaves of some of my plants. The green algae also looks like dust algae but is a little harder to remove.