10 Gal. Planted Betta Tank (Help Needed :P) - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Blacktetra
  • 2 Post By Blacktetra

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-01-2017, 06:42 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
10 Gal. Planted Betta Tank (Help Needed :P)

Hi! Decided to start a thread to show my journey towards a lightly planted betta tank. This is my first time trying a planted tank, so I've done research to try to get what will be best for my betta, my plants, and appearance. Honestly, I have some questions that I would appreciate help with. :P
1) Currently all I have in the tank is some sand. I have about 10 lbs. of Carib Sea Super Natural Moonlight Sand (white) in my tank. Should I add Flourite or some other substrate to help with my plants? I plan on using this fertilizer and these root capsules (root capsules for my Amazon Sword).

Some details about what I plan on doing:
Lighting
For now, I'm going to use the LEDs on my tank lid. The plants I am getting are low-light.

Plants
Moss
Marimo Moss Balls
Amazon Sword
Anubias barteri

Decor
Cholla Wood
Some small seashells
Some rocks (not gravel size rocks, but not large)

Equipment
CO2 Tank and Regulator
Filter, pump, tubing, and check valves

Will post pictures of some of this stuff as soon as I get them.

Quote:
Today you are you, that is truer than true. There is no one alive that is youer than you.
~Dr. Seuss
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-02-2017, 03:28 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (6/100%)
An Amazon Sword gets huge fast. It will likely get too large for a 10 gallon very quickly. It can be a personal preference thing, but I think you have an issue with the scale. You have a small tank and the 2 plants you picked have very large leaves. A little growth from the sword and 8-10 leaves on the anubius and your tank will be full.