Deep substrate on 125G tank? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-30-2016, 01:04 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
Deep substrate on 125G tank?

Good morning all! Long time lurker, first time poster. Ive been keeping a 90G planted tank for about 6 years now, and will be moving in the spring. When I move, Im going to be changing my current discus tank (125G) over to a planted tank, and will be putting a journal up here for support and advice. In the meantime, I wanted to introduce myself and ask a couple of simple questions. First, the size of my new tank is going to make Aquasoil or Aquasand unreasonable from a cost perspective. I plan to use Black Diamond blasting sand for the top layer of substrate, and was thinking of a combination of crushed lava rock and kitty litter for the base. Will I be able to add any significant depth to the substrate by doing it this way, or will I run into problems with an anaerobic substrate? I was thinking that the lava rock would prevent it from getting too compacted, but I worry that adding the clay will defeat that purpose. If lava rock and kitty litter wouldnt work, what could I use instead of Aquasand to get up to 6 or so of depth?

Also, Im having an issue with lighting as well. The tank measures 72x18x22 with two supports in the top (3- 24 sections). I cant find a reasonably priced LED light that is 72 long, and I cant use 2 36 lights because there is no support directly in the middle. This only leaves me using 3 24 lights or a T5 fixture (I hate fluorescent fixtures). My plan right now is to buy 3 Current Satellite+ Pro fixtures. Im sure that this will be enough PAR at the substrate, but will I have an issue with coverage from front to back (18)? If so, does anyone have any other fixtures in mind that would work for the same cost or less?

Thank you in advance for any help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement