Any truth to this? - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By Remmy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-30-2016, 09:51 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Any truth to this?

I am pretty new to the aquarium hobby, however I thought this to be an interesting answer to one of my questions. Went to one of my LFS and asked them a question about fish just to see what there opinion was and they told me, "If you have a fully planted tank that you can have more fish then without a planted tank." Is there any truth to this? Seems crazy to me in a way... Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-30-2016, 11:03 AM
Planted Member

It is true in the sense that live plants will consume the nutrients found in fish waste which aids in keeping water quality in good condition
You could house the same number of fish in a non planted tank but then you'll be reliant solely on water changes to keep the water quality good
I'd say its not so much that plants allow you more fish but rather that having plants makes it easier to keep your water quality high by not relying solely on water changes
BettaBettas and BettaBettas like this.

Last edited by Remmy; 12-30-2016 at 11:22 AM. Reason: .
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-30-2016, 11:15 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (12/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Remmy View Post
I'd say its not so much that plants allow you more fish but rather that having plants makes it easier to keep your water quality high by not being relying solely on water changes
This is my opinion as well. It just makes it easier! Plus, plants are a natural hiding spot and may allow fish to coexist more easily.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-30-2016, 11:49 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower