algae and pruning - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-02-2010, 08:52 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (6/100%)
algae and pruning

Hi. I'm relatively new to planted tanks (4-5 months). I've been getting a lot of some sort of algae on my glass tank over the last few months. I think it's GSA, but I'm not sure. It looks like green spots, but it comes off pretty easily with a MagFloat and I've always read that you need to scrape pretty hard with razor blades, etc to get GSA off.

In any case, over the past month or so I've been getting some black and green spots on the leaves of my sword. I bought a nerite snail today and set it loose on the sword, but it ate holes in the leaves (not sure if it was trying to eat the leaf or the algae on the leaf). Is pruning the only option I have left? If so, how far down the leaf stalk can you safely cut to not affect the growth of new leaves?

Tank
: 15 gallon tall
Lighting: 26W CFL 6500K on about 12 hours/day
Plants: java fern, sword, anacharis; just got some hydrocotyle leucocephala and a cryptocoryne walkeri today.
Fish: zebra danio x2, endler's guppies x8, guppy x3, bristlenose pleco x1, otocinclus x2, dwarf gourami x1, cory trilineatus x2, sae x2, harlequin rasbora x4, platy x2
Inverts: nerite snail x1
CO2: DIY setup so I'm not sure how much it's putting out. Haven't tested it in a long time, but I believe my morning pH was 7.3 and KH is 6. I think on the nomogram it was 11 ppm or something like that.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-02-2010, 10:51 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

If the nerite ate a hole in the sword leaf, then the spot was probably dead since I have never seen a nerite eat healthy plants, especially one as tough as a sword.

How are you fertilizing? The spots could be from a nutrient deficiency.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-02-2010, 11:46 AM
tug
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (1/100%)