My first planted tank, lots of questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-04-2010, 01:06 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
My first planted tank, lots of questions

Hi, this is my first post here. I am new to aquariums in general and planted aquariums in particular, and am in need of some help to ensure that I set up my first planted tank properly. I think this is going to be a loooong post, apologies in advance for the length :-)

My first tank was a simple 10-gallon with some minnows, and things have gone pretty well with that so I feel I'm ready to set up my next tank. It is a 20-gallon long, which I plan to populate with a variety of low-light plants. For fish, I hope to have cardinal tetras, otos, panda corys, and some shrimp (after the tank cycles of course).

I have been doing a ton of research, but it seems like the more I learn the less I know. If I may, I'd like to lay out my plans here and see if I'm way off track about anything, and/or neglecting any important areas.

The 20-gallon long will have an Aquaclear Power Filter 50 (200 gph), Eco-Complete Substrate, and hooded lighting of 20 watts. I plan to set it up and plant immediately, then do a fishless cycle by adding ammonia and monitoring (I found an excellent post on here with step-by-step instructions of how to do this).

The plants I'm considering are Anubias, Java Fern, Java Moss, and Crypts. My questions:

1) Are those good plant choices for a low-light tank? Are there others that would be good too? I don't plan to use CO2, I want to start out low-tech and low-maintenance.

2) Will the Eco-Complete (and then later the fish) provide all the nutrients the plants need, or do I need to use fertilizer too?

3) How many plants should I get for the tank? I would like it to be pretty heavily planted.