Trouble maintaining tank lately - The Planted Tank Forum
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-25-2016, 12:41 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
Trouble maintaining tank lately

I've been working a new job now for the past three months. My hours are constantly all over the place and sometimes I work up to 60 hours in a week. Sometimes I get home at 10 pm and have to get up again the next day at 5 am.

So with all this chaos, it's hard to find time to manage and maintain my 55 gallon planted tank! That and spend time with my wife at the same time because she has the opposite schedule as me.

I would definitely love to still keep my fish tank! I am considering going down to a 40 gallon though just to make it easier on myself instead of having such a large tank to maintain. Anybody have any tips?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-25-2016, 12:57 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Depends on what you are doing now. I think you can have a pretty decent tank with 30 min of care per week and 2 hours per month.

Aim for slow growing plants that enjoy low light and are root feeders. Lower light means reduced growth speed for both algae and plants.

Have a big volume canister or sump that allows for less frequent cleaning.

Less bioload will allow for less frequent water changes. When doing water changes use a phyton system.

Cover your aquarium with glass, then you have almost no need for top-off.

Read D. Walstad book, she has some additional good tips on how to set up such a low maitenance aquarium.

On hiatus till later this year
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-25-2016, 01:11 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (5/100%)
A good pre-filter and purigen are your best friends in this situation.

75G Seachem Flourite

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

20H Seachem Flourite with DIY Canopy/Cooling System