taking photos - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-13-2010, 08:02 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (13/100%)
taking photos

What are some tricks or tips in taking good quality pictures of your tank? Every photo that I take seem horrible, either too bright or too dim. I have a sony cybershot dsc-w300 with 13.6 megapixel and I can't get it to take pictures like it's suppose to. My iphone takes better pictures than my camera. =(
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-13-2010, 08:14 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
I'm still learning how to take them myself but I identify with what you are going through. I also have a Sony cybershot but I'm pretty sure mine is 10.1 megapixels.

My particular camera has a setting that allows you to take low light shots with a tripod. This may not work for you but it allowed me to go from something like this...

to something like this...

Its not a huge improvement but at least its not as blurry and the color is more true to life than the old ones.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-13-2010, 08:24 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

thats kind of what i was talking about. I can't seem to get photos like that no matter how hard i try.

post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-13-2010, 01:17 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (59/100%)
try to light your tank better and turn the flash off on your camera.

here is a link to uncle neds fish factory. there is a guy who works there named sam who takes awesome pics of fish. in this link he took some pics of caterpillers and his pics made it into discover magazine. if you look around the site you'll see some pics of fish that he's taken also.

his work is awesome!

http://unclenedsfishfactory.com/Bull...pic.php?t=4629
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-13-2010, 02:39 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)