planted blue ram tank? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-13-2010, 06:39 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
planted blue ram tank?

hi, i am new to the hobby and would appreciate any advice/ experience, i have a new 80l corner tank which i am in the process of setting up in the hope of keeping electric blue rams, i have added oppropriate flora and plant substrate & will be adding RO water, i only have basic 2x11w lighting which came with the tank so have done research & chosen suitable plants, my question is what would be the best stocking numbers of blue rams in this size tank, how many plants, the best co2 system to use & the best way to cycle my tank before adding the fish?
thankyou.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-13-2010, 07:52 AM
Algae Grower

Greetings and welcome to the hobby!

With a tank that size it is probably best to get a pair. You could attempt the harem thing and get a male and a few females but often once a pair has formed the other females will get chased to death.

I have heard that you can keep several of the same sex together as well since most often aggression occurs only after a mating pair forms and becomes territorial.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-13-2010, 08:07 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
80L = ~20 gallons. Personally I wouldn't add more than one pair. Territory space will eventually become an issue if you keep more than that when breeding time comes around. Otherwise they aren't really aggressive to other species of fish generally, but will chase anything that gets in their "space". (In my tank that's any fish that gets within a few inches of the substrate anywhere in the tank. Individual personalities do vary however.)