What do you do when you hate your tank? (Advice etc.) - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 07-10-2016, 02:19 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
What do you do when you hate your tank? (Advice etc.)

I've had a 10gal setup for about 3 years now. Back then I was a total newbie to planted tanks, I didn't really know what I was doing. Since then I've learned a lot - though I still consider myself just a beginner! - and have tried to fix my mistakes. But I'm fed up with my tank. Plants are doing poorly, not enough substrate, algae everywhere... I know I can do better.

Frankly I'd like to do a complete tear-down and start fresh, but I don't know how feasible that is - even if I save my filter media, will it cycle again and possibly hurt my fish? (I'd have to house them elsewhere until I finished, of course!)

Has anyone else had this experience? What did you do?
sewlady6 and sewlady6 like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 07-10-2016, 02:44 AM
Wannabe Guru

Should be no problem.

I put my fish in same water bucket, rip up the tank, clean everything but the filter, and filler 'er up.
You shouldn't have a problem if your filter is nice and dirty. If you clean the filter, then you'll need to cycle with the fish in. Meaning daily, or at least every two days about a 10-20% change. Depending on how large a tank, and how many and how sensitive your fish, you could get away with just a 50% change 1x/wk. But either way monitor water ammonia.

P.S. If your ammonia is anything other than zero, change 50% daily until it's steady zero.
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 07-10-2016, 03:21 AM
Wannabe Guru