New to Forum & Planted Aquarium; Detritus Worms - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-04-2016, 10:14 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to Forum & Planted Aquarium; Detritus Worms

Hello folks! My name is Jonathan. While I have been an aquarium hobbyist for over 15 years keeping exotic freshwater fish, my latest project is a first.

I have set up a 72 gallon fully planted aquarium and I seem to be having an issue with detritus worms. This is my first encounter with these parasites and read it is a sign of poor maintenance of the aquarium. However, this is not the case in my tank.

Here are the stats on the tank.

Cycle: In its final days.
Ammonia: 0 ppm
Ammonium: .50
Nitrite: 0.0
Nitrate: 30 ppm
p.H. 6.4
K.H. 3

No CO2 (will hook up in Aug/Sept)
Dose: Iron root tabs, potassium, and trace minerals.
Light 35W (210 watts equivalent), 6500k - 10,000k adjustable LED.
Wet/Dry filter

I have already been through the ammonia & Nitrite spike. I am waiting for the last bit of ammonium to covert.

This is a soft water aquarium for South American fish.

20% water change every 4 days. I use a small airline tube to clean around substrate so not to disturb my dwarf hair grass and baby tears that have started carpeting.

I have 6 otocinclus catfish which have been feeding on the diatoms and algae - no additional feedings. That is it for fish.

Do you think that the detritus worms could have hitch-hiked on some of the plants? I purchased a dwarf red water lily from lfs and had 3 snails find their way from that plant. I just added the plant last week and didn't have a problem with the pests until then. Or is this a normal occurrence in a planted tank since I don't have fish that would feed on them yet (Cory cats). There are not that many worms but I figure they multiply quickly.