Start out with stem plants and replace later? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-05-2010, 11:27 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Start out with stem plants and replace later?

I have a low light system. I read that I should plant fast growing stem plants to start out (to manage algae growth) and to slowly replace them with the specimens that I want to keep in the tank permanently as the tank settles. What do you all think? (I am a beginner with low light and no CO2.)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-06-2010, 01:29 AM
Planted Member

I am shortly setting up a low light no co2 tank also, I am going to plant what I want straight off, but add fast growing stem plants as extras along with some floating nutrient suckers to use up any extra nutrients while my crypts and swords get going. It will save stirring the whole thing up again later, all I'll need to do is remove the stems. What are you using for substrate? I am using MTS, which has lots of nutrients, thus the need for nutrient suckers. If your only using something plain, it may not be such a problem for you.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-06-2010, 01:58 AM
Algae Grower

You could always pick some nice looking stems to start out with, that you may want in the finished tank. This way you could keep them trimmed back and they will keep the algae down. Then slowly add the plants you want after the tank has established itself. Good luck.

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-06-2010, 06:21 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamivy View Post