Noob frustrated with type of wood for stand. - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By OVT
  • 2 Post By Nordic

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-26-2016, 05:17 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Noob frustrated with type of wood for stand.

I'm going to homedepot tomorrow to pick out some 2x4 for a 40 breeder stand I will be constructing. This is my first time, and I really don't know anything about wood or wood types.

Is there a rule I should go by? What should I ask for?

I plan to ask the dude for at least grade 2, untreated lumber 2x4s.
And make sure it isn't "green".

What else should I look out for?

Any tips will seriously help. I feel like I'm overthinking this project.

Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-26-2016, 08:28 AM
OVT
Carpe Diem

PTrader: (144/100%)
I think you are overthinking it a bit - any 2x4 should handle the job with the right stand design. If you want to make a "furniture quality" stand, then the wood grade becomes more important.

Enjoy and have fun.
JuanSan and JuanSan like this.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-26-2016, 11:28 AM
Planted Tank Guru

If your budget can do it, I'd ask for hardwood. The cheapest type would depend on location.
Here it is meranti, pretty strong and very water resistant.

Cape Town, South Africa.

Hi. I'm back.

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-26-2016, 01:05 PM
Wannabe Guru

You just need basic kiln dried 2x4's, typically pine. Just check each one to ensure it's straight and true. The (simple) basic build design for strength is available on many YouTubes. Your gonna need a (circular) saw and some (3" deck) screws to put it together. You may also wish to paint or stain and poly coat to ensure that any water spills will not warp the wood.
Finally, unless you will be happy with an open design, you may want a cover of a decent plywood and then there's door hardware.

Good Luck with your build.

Tank On, Mike-