Help New Tank Syndrome - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-02-2010, 04:34 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Send a message via Skype™ to RelionFish
Help New Tank Syndrome

I've decided to do a planted Tank. I've already had a regular freshwater fish tank going for a little over a month. Before I bought this tank I had a basic 20 gallon tank. I moved most of my fish and decor over to the new tank. My old tank was crystal clear and had no ammonia problems. This is a 60 gallon tank and I haven't got it to clear up for some time. At most it will look this clear:

But here how's clear my old tank would get:

I've been keeping fish for over 2 years so I thought I knew what I was doing. I have 2 150 BioWheel Penguin Filters, Pressurized CO-2 for Plants, I change the water once a week 20-25%, and I don't over feed my fish. Please help me figure this out. I just wanted a nicer bigger tank. Also, I'm terrible at aquascaping, if you want you can point some enchancement in that area as well. I still rate myself as a novice at taking care of fish. Thanks for your input!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-02-2010, 04:36 AM
Fresh Fish Freak

PTrader: (70/100%)
What are your ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate readings?

What lighting are you running, and what ferts?

Are you running your filters with the biowheels in them? If so, you're probably outgassing a good percentage of your CO2. Do you have a drop checker to measure your CO2 levels?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Next meeting Monday, Oct 13, 2014 @ 7:15pm- See ya there!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-02-2010, 04:41 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Here is the same tank from the side. You can really see the cloudiness from this angle: