the planted tank? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-31-2010, 11:24 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
the planted tank?

i am new to planted tank so if you guys could help me compile a list of stuff i need that would be great! i have a few empty tanks 50g aquaeon, some 20g long tanks and a ~30g tall tank which would be best for a planted tank?

i am not new to aquariums tho, i have a 10g bowfront with guppies and some moss. and also a 72g saltwater tank.

thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-31-2010, 11:32 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (1/100%)
That 50G,.. is it 4 feet long? If so, it would probably be the cheapest to light with simple shoplight fixtures.

Whiskey
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-31-2010, 11:37 PM
Fresh Fish Freak

PTrader: (70/100%)
Welcome to TPT!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTeal View Post
which would be best for a planted tank?
All of them! Actually, I'd start with one of the smaller tanks so you can get down the "basics" without the larger costs involved in setting up one of the bigger tanks. Equipment and substrate add up really quickly on big tanks, and if you start with a smaller tank first, you can get a handle on what type of planted tank works for you before investing all the $$ only to wish you'd gone a different direction...

Lighting is one of the most important factors in setting up a planted tank. Light controls plant growth rates, and growth rates determine the nutrient demands of plants.

You need to decide first of all how "high tech" you want your tank to be- if you put a lot of light over the tank, you'll need to also be sure to put together a comprehensive fertilizer regimen and add a pressurized CO2 setup. High light/high tech tanks allow you to keep the widest variety of plants, and the plants will grow lush quite quickly. These tanks require at least weekly maintenance.