How to test rock - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-27-2010, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (9/100%)
How to test rock

I know this is a really simple question but, since I've never done it before, I dont know the answer.
How do you test a rock to see if its ok for your tank? I remember reading somewhere that you use vinegar but I dont know how much, or if there is some ratio to water. If you know, help me out please. I have an s-load of rocks around my house that I think would look great in the tank. I just dont know if their safe. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-27-2010, 08:19 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
yes you can use strait vinegar on a rock to detect CaCO3 but a better solution is to use muriatic acid (found at lows, etc.) with the lower Ph you will get a stronger reaction.

if you don't get a reaction the next step is to place it in a bucket of tank water for a week or 2 and test the TDS, Ph, and kh on a regular basis looking for a change in water chemistry. and if this comes up clean it is most likely safe for use. and if you want you can post a picture of the rocks in question and I'm sure there is a geologist or two on here that will do there best to Id the rocks

GEOLOGY Rocks Have A Gneiss Day
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-27-2010, 08:43 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (9/100%)
Ok, cool. I'll grab a couple of the rocks, take pic, and post it. Assuming I get the acid you spoke of, what "reaction" am I looking for? Thanks again.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-27-2010, 09:15 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guns286 View Post
Ok, cool. I'll grab a couple of the rocks, take pic, and post it. Assuming I get the acid you spoke of, what "reaction" am I looking for? Thanks again.
you are looking for any form of fizing.

GEOLOGY Rocks Have A Gneiss Day