I am puzzled! and frushtrated - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 09-27-2004, 01:05 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
I am puzzled! and frushtrated

Hi guys,
I know I am still new at this plant game, about 1 year, but I am having problems getting plants to thrive.
So far the only species of plant that will grow in my tank are Willow leaf Hygro, Rotal Macarondra ( which is beautifull, top 3 inches of plant is rose colored), Brazilian Pennywort and Ammana Gracillis( also very pretty going from green to orange to pink from top to bottom).
Plants that just hang around with no growth or decay are Java fern, Alterneth Renicki Corkscrew val and Crypt. Wenditi.
I have no luck with Java moss, Ludwiga thin or broad leaf.
My water temp is at 79f, ph is at 7.0, gh is at 5, kh is at 4.
I have 30 fish in the tank. 6 empror tetras, 8 sunset tetras, 9 sae's, 5 clown loaches, 1 discuss, and 2 VERY LARGE WILD ANGELS.
My system is about 300 gallons substrate is 100% flourite, a lot of driftwood( heavy african stuff). The tank measures 80"long 23" wide and 30" deep. I have Co2 injection 3 bubbles/sec. 4 returns from my Iwaki 70 cut to about 60% to reduce the tornado effect. Lights are on for 10 hours 6*96watt pcs...2 5500k , 2 6700k, 2 8800k. I add seachen flourish, seachem iron , and seachem Po. I have no algae problems. Please advise.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 09-27-2004, 01:29 PM

You might need some c02 injection with that kind of light

Although it is 30 inches deep so Im not sure,

Doesnt kevlin have something to do with how far the light penetrates the water? You might try having some higher kelvin lighting to get deeper

Just a couple ideas to research, Im sure some of the more experienced people will have a more definate answer.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 09-27-2004, 01:45 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (125/100%)
Your problem is most likely you Nitrates and your phosphates..

Craig