leech-like worm in my 10g? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-14-2004, 03:16 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
leech-like worm in my 10g?

hello people!
glad to join this forum
i am a certified newbie in planted tanks!
i buy my plants at various lfs within toronto, not sure where the origins are...
my ? is - is it possible that those plants carried an egg or eggs or baby leech? i just saw a 3/4 in beige-colored leech-like worm inside my tank mingling with some ramshorn snails. it moves like an inch worm, the thrusting end has a dark tip and the lagging end has a wider body and has a black line that looks like the end of its digestive system.
will it pose a threat to any of the inhabitants of my 10g?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-14-2004, 04:55 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)
It probably is a leech, I had a couple at one point. Depending on the size of your fish, I should think the leech would have more to worry about. They never caused any problem in my tanks, but there's a definite hefty eww factor.

James
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-14-2004, 04:56 PM

I don't about that leech thing that you have but, yes, some plants come w/ eggs attached. I recall someone here using a dip solution to sanitize their plants but I forget what it is.

You think that thing will suck on you when you're doing maintenance?

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-14-2004, 05:16 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)
While they probably wont cause any problems, I would remove them as I find them. Eventually you will wipe them out by removing them before they are able to reproduce.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-14-2004, 06:10 PM
Wannabe Guru