I'm new to planted tanks...some questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-31-2002, 04:22 AM Thread Starter
Kit

PTrader: (0/0%)
Hi.
I have been amazed at everyones planted tanks. I recently bought a 29 gallon tank. I'm going to put a ballast running 2 flouresant light strips. I have a AquaClear 300 Power Filter on the tank.

The Questions I have are if I was going to inject Co2...(theres a system where I live for about $90...) , what else would I need to do to the plants. I kind of want to stay away from liquid fertilizers (for the reason of staying away from chemicals), would the tablets be better?

Also...Would I need a layer of flourite under my gravel with co2 or is that only if your not going to inject it.

I am hoping to keep a tank with 7 tiger barbs, a red tail shark, and a bulldog pleco.

Can you recomend any plants?

I was thinking the following..

elodia, java moss, bannana plant, and tape grass.

any suggestions and info would help...

Thanks

Kit
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-31-2002, 02:31 PM

For a beginner with plants, 100% Flourite is a great way to start, but it's not mandatory. You can have success with less or even plain gravel it just makes success easier to obtain at 100%.

Your plant list is fine, though you may want to consider adding Java fern, Anubias and possibly some fast growing stem plants like Rotala indica or Ludwigia repens.

Fertilizing is completely dependant upon the amount of lighting that a tank receives, the substrate, the species of plants in the tank, how heavily the tanks is planted, what the fish/bio-load is, and whether CO2 is injected. So you see it's not really a question that can be answered without lots more information.