I Am New Help - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-11-2004, 07:35 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
I Am New Help

I am new at keeping live plants and i just got a 29g that i want to turn in to a planted community. I am on a tight budget so i need some help I plan on using EcoComplete for my substrate(20lb bag good?) I plan on keeping moderate to low light plants . what kind of lighting should i use (low cost but work good)? Any com. welcome Thanks for the help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-11-2004, 08:02 PM
Planted Member

Your tank will need a minimum of 2 watts/gal. to have a chance at success, IMO. Unfortunately, lighting is one of the most necessary and also the most expensive items to consider when setting up a planted tank.
I don't know what how your personal cash flow is, but my advice is to not skimp on lighting. 60 watts, or so of compact fluorescent lighting would give you the opportunity to grow many varieties of plants. This is, by most people's standards, still a moderately lit tank, but a good starting point. If you have a hood that came with the tank, you can 'retro-fit' it fairly inexpensively with light kits from here:
www.ahsupply.com/ Check out the site and you'll get an idea of the cost for what I think you'll need.
I like a deep substrate, and would suggest that a minimum of 35 - 40lbs. of it will give you a pretty good base for growing plants.
I'm sure others will add their thoughts and ideas as well. These are not gospel, but suggestions.

Len

Regards,
Len

HAVE DISCS - WILL TRAVEL
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-11-2004, 11:54 PM
Wannabe Guru

Welcome Rob

Here is a company with some very good pricing on lighting...

http://www.aquatraders.com/catalog/i...fb4e23dbd5d09b

I have never used this brand so I can't say what the quality is like.

Here is a link to help you with how much gravel you will need...