A secret to preventing algae - The Planted Tank Forum
 14Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-02-2016, 01:06 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
A secret to preventing algae

So this just occurred to me when I had a friend ask me how my aquarium is so clear and free of algae, and I thought I'd share it. I've been using high lighting in my planted tank for almost two months now, and just recently started using CO2 a little over a week ago, and have never had an issue other than when I first set the tank up. I think the secret might just be the purigen I am using in my HOB filters? The tank has been setup for about two years now, and during the first 6 months I did have issues with nitrate and algae, and ever since I started using the Purigen, I've never had an issue with excessive nitrates and/or algae. Anyone else have any similar experiences with this product?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-02-2016, 01:33 AM
Planted Member

I use this in my reef tank and it does the job pretty well.. in a planted tank it'd remove a lot of goodies for the plants, no?

In my experience algae can easily be prevented with correct dosing and CO2 if you have a high light planted tank, then again, I am happy it works out for you this way :P

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-02-2016, 01:47 AM
Algae Grower

Youve only had co2 for a week? I would wait a bit longer to see whether it's true or not

Sent from my D2303 using Tapatalk
Mikeygmzmg and Mikeygmzmg like this.

post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-02-2016, 09:57 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

apparently it only removes waste, and does not have an effect on anything else.
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-02-2016, 11:15 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

Pics or it didn't happen.