The Planted Tank Forum banner

New to Planted Tank, New to Plantedtank.net, Help Appreciated!

2K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  demolisher23 
#1 ·
Hello,

I am a new member of plantedtank.net, I've had a planted tank for about 3 months now and need help and a little of guidance on where to go. I honestly don't even know what some of the plants/fish are in my tank and will take criticisms and feedback to help better my tank.

My Setup:

29 Gallon Tank
This Light
2 Amazon Swords
4 Mormino Moss Balls
1 Unknown Plant 1 (Attached)

1 Unknown Plant 2 (Attached)

1 Dwarf Pleco
1 Bamboo Shrimp
3 Nerite Snails
6 Unknown Fish Silver Ones 1 (Attached)

3 Unknown Fish Mino looking ones 2 (Attached)

4 Unknown Fish Orange Ones 3 (Attached)

2 Some Sort of Cat Fish (Attached)

(I'm fairly new to fish tanks in general I have been told I'm overstocked, if this is true what is generally an okay amount of fish for this tank?)

Water Temp ~82 Degrees F

This Gravel

PH 7.6
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 80ppm (Currently treating with this)

My Observations:

The amazon swords were doing really well initially, growing many new leaves. Then they stopped and started browning a bit and growing algae. The Unknown plant 1 has been doing very well growing new leaves like crazy, no complaints. Unknown plant 2 has been trimmed, when I planted them they started growing new leaves from the ground but the initial ones started dying so I trimmed the initial plants but kept the new leaves, they don't appear to be doing so well. The moss balls are starting to brown a tad which is concerning. The fish all appear to be healthy.

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Hi,

I'm fairly new to plants so I'll leave that part to the experts. What I do think is that your nitrates are far too high so you'll need to do more water changes to fix that. Prime doesn't reduce nitrates so the best way to do that is with a water change. What is your water change schedule now?