Anyone ever have trouble with having tanks in apartment? - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By SchrutesFish

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-05-2017, 09:06 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Anyone ever have trouble with having tanks in apartment?

Hi

I'm new to this hobby and recently moved into a NYC apartment about a year ago. There is a no pet clause in our lease but I spoke with the landlord over the phone and got the okay to have a aquarium in my apartment. It's on the ground floor as well so I'm sure it's no biggy as far as weight goes. In addition, it's a two 20 gallons and a 3 gallon tank and 43 gallons doesnt seem too bad compared to larger ones.

I'm concerned about moving. How hard was it to get an apartment with a tank? Did you have to look specifically for no pet places or were your landlords okay with it?

Also, how hard was it to move? One of my 20 gallons is not set up and I'm wondering if it's worth setting up if having an additional tank will cause issues with getting a new place and if moving it will be a pain.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-06-2017, 06:23 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (34/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SchrutesFish View Post
Hi

I'm new to this hobby and recently moved into a NYC apartment about a year ago. There is a no pet clause in our lease but I spoke with the landlord over the phone and got the okay to have a aquarium in my apartment. It's on the ground floor as well so I'm sure it's no biggy as far as weight goes. In addition, it's a two 20 gallons and a 3 gallon tank and 43 gallons doesnt seem too bad compared to larger ones.

I'm concerned about moving. How hard was it to get an apartment with a tank? Did you have to look specifically for no pet places or were your landlords okay with it?