The Planted Tank Forum banner

Natural Plant Filter - lower nitrates

3K views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  toffee 
#1 ·
I bought a new tank recently and i'm still planning it out...100g.

The sump is fairly large with lots of room for plants and i have a rather powerful light mounted to the inside of the stand.

My goal is to place enough plants in the sump that it will keep nitrates incredibly and algae out of the display with very little maintenance.

In the saltwater world this is accomplished with clams and chaeto algae. I've read up on freshwater clams and everything says stay away so it is no longer an option.

So, my only option would really be a heavily planted sump. I need something very hardy (i'm a NEWBIE to plants), does not require CO2 injection, and can simply be left alone with little intervention.

Thoughts??

#3 ·
Peace lilies and hydro pondic PVC tubes work supper.
I did this about 20 years ago with excellent results.

The NO3 are not so bad, it's the NH4 and getting it to NO3 really fast that is the key. But any export of NO3 is not bad either.

Still, for you to have high NO3, you need high loading of NH4 vuia fish waste, thus if you have fewer fish and or fed them less, you will have lower NO3 if you do the same no# of water changes.

what goes in, must come out.
You can do this via water changes, or use plants to sequenster more of the NH4 and NO3(my preference).

Or you can go a non CO2 planted tank: no water changes, a biodynamic system with the fewest amounts of inpouts and exports, looks nice and is about as easy to care as it gets over time.

See non CO2 planted tank methods.
Might not work with plant eaters or big messy fish.

Regards,
Tom Barr

#4 ·
The experiment will be a medium stocked tank and balancing out the nitrate load.

No worries about Ammonia/Nitrite, but i would love to see if i can keep nitrates down w/minimal water changes and not lowering food intake.

Sort of a natural filter.