Ludwigia Repens - rootlets and missing leaves - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-18-2004, 01:48 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Ludwigia Repens - rootlets and missing leaves

I have two separate questions about my Ludwigia Repens

1) As the plants get to the surface, they are sending out lots of little rootlets at each of the nodes (?right term) high up on the stem. What do I do about these? Take them off? Trim the top portion of the plant, remove the leaves of this portion and plant it? I realize this is probably pretty basic but I'm still learning!

2) Several of my plants are missing the lower leaves - ie the lower third/half of the stem is bare with leaves only on the upper half. Does this sound particularly diagnostic of any type of specific problem? Would snails do this? A nutritional deficiency?

These are in a 50g tank with a little less than 3wpg

Thanks!

Jason
50g planted tank

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
http://www.people.virginia.edu/~jl3de/Tank/rightside.jpg
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-18-2004, 02:50 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (7/100%)
You can go ahead and trim those roots off. It won't hurt your plants. The reason your plants have no leaves on the lower third is likely due to insufficient lighting not a nutrient deficiency. Even with 3wpg if the light isn't making it to the bottom of the tank your plant will drop its leaves. If the plants are buchy on top trim them to increase light passage, replant the tops when the plant starts getting leggy. A good reflector will also help
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-18-2004, 02:56 PM

Hi, here are my answers.