Brown spots on plants - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By DaveKS

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-09-2020, 12:00 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Brown spots on plants

Greetings,

I am completely new to live plants, but am doing my best so far. Glad I found this forum.

I'm currently part way through a fishless cycle, and have included a Java Fern, Anubias and moss balls in the tank. While the Java Fern didn't arrive in great condition (brown bits, etc.), I'm now starting to see what look like brown "burn marks". My fear is that it may be caused by adding too much ammonia while attempting to get the levels right during the cycle.

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance - I appreciate any input!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200708_192217.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	249.1 KB
ID:	900747  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-09-2020, 12:48 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (1/100%)
Could just be getting settled in to new environment . Give it some time , trim off any leaves that turn brown all together and watch for new growth . The first rule of planted tanks is patience , patience , patience . It has been a long while since I have gotten new Java Fern so I maybe wrong . If you get it going it will last a loong time . I have a bunch that is over 15 years old and still going and spread to other tanks .

My wife says if I get one more aquarium she is going to leave me . I sure am going to miss her fried chicken .
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-09-2020, 01:20 AM Thread Starter

Hi Leeatl, thanks for the reply. I appreciate the encouragement. It's good to know that I just need patience, because that I have! So would you recommend leaving the brown spots and waiting to see if they return to green? Or cut them off? Learning as I go...

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-09-2020, 10:38 AM
Planted Tank Guru