Plants that can be planted in sand? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 07:42 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Plants that can be planted in sand?

So I'm totally new at this so any advice and tips will be appreciated!
I have a 10gal tank and I was recommended to use Flourite Black Sand. I was also recommended to start with java fern and anubias plants since they are hardy and don't need bright LED lighting. I have LED lighting but not enough for some plants. When the guy talked to me, I figured I could plant them in the sand but someone else said they had to be glued to rocks so the roots can attach to something, which makes sense.
Are there any plants that can be planted in the sand that you recommend? I'm kinda looking for tall ones like Anacharis as well as any other type
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 10:27 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (14/100%)
You can bury the roots, but the rhizome. Important difference! The rhizome is the horizontal structure to which the leaves are attached; the roots descend vertically from there. Attaching them to rocks or driftwood makes them easier to move or place in higher spots in the tank. They can get more nutrition from the substrate if need be.

Rotala rotundifolia is an easy stem that comes to mind.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-14-2019, 07:19 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

Hi, and welcome!

Vals (valisneria species) are supposed to be easy to grow, and will get quite tall/long (when they reach the surface they curve over and trail along just underwater. They'll root into sand VERY well and spread roots through your tank. Amazon swords also root well, although they may need supplemental fertilizer tabs; they get very big also so might outgrow your tank.