Alternanthera reineckii mini is too high - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 03:15 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Alternanthera reineckii mini is too high

Hello,

I have a long term problem with Alternanthera reineckii mini, which still grows high and does not form low bushes.

Tank size: 90x40x40cm, 144l

Water parameters:
temperature 26C
NO2 - 0
NO3 - 10
Fe 0,1
dGH 7
PO4 (Phosphorus) 0
pH 6,5

Substrate is something like Amazonia

Lighting 1x Chihiros LED A serie 90-110 cm 55W A901

Can you give me some idea where the problem is?

Thank you.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 03:25 PM
Algae Grower

I'm not an expert
But the light is probably not intense enough or that is not AR mini

Sent from my SM-G955W using Tapatalk
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 03:31 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (7/100%)
I too would agree you may not have enough light and its causing them to stretch. AR, AR mini and AR variegated all stay quite short for me. I run high light to possibly very high light.

post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 03:42 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Can you recommend which light intensity would be optimal?
post #5 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 04:01 PM
Algae Grower

Well it's probably the par output that's not great with the light. I would suggest being happy with what you presently have as the rest of the plants look very healthy. Otherwise it's a 300$ upgrade atleast just for one particular plant and it's not worth it
I used ecotech radions xr15fw that cost 500 new and I have 3 over my 150gallon. I got then used for a good deal and even they cant grow some of the most demanding plants

Sent from my SM-G955W using Tapatalk
post #6 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 04:33 PM
Algae Grower