• 2 Post By harris611
  • 1 Post By Ventchur
  • 1 Post By AguaScape

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-09-2019, 07:23 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Plant help for unique aquascape

This is my first post regarding a new tank build (I am new to planted aquariums, but have done reef). Been lurking here a while, but need some specific advice on plant choice for an aquascape that has a lot of variation in lighting levels.

Quick tank summary: 24" rimless cube, Radion XR15FW G4 Pro LED, CO2 injection (in-line diffuser), Fluval G6 filter, ADA Aqua Soil, EI ferts via dosing pump. I am starting with an Iwagumi-style carpet-only (or at least predominant) tank and am going to give HC a try.

First off, with "Pride Rock" dead center, I have a serious shadow to deal with. I tried to make that shadowed portion rock heavy, but would like to have something growing there. Was thinking maybe Java Moss, but its not my favorite. Kinda messy looking. Would love any suggestions on a low light, low growing plant that won't take off and obscure the cliff / elevation effect I'm going for.

Second, I think it might look cool to get something growing up the slope on top of the central stone. Again, looking at mosses that could grow on the rock, but can also take the intensity of light right under the fixture (maybe Christmas?).

I've searched here and Googled a lot, but have not found anything really definitive -- so thought I'd ask. Any advice welcome.

Bump: Quick pics...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	aquascape2.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	227.2 KB
ID:	880297  

mgeorges and AguaScape like this.

Last edited by harris611; 04-09-2019 at 07:35 PM. Reason: typo
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 01:30 AM
Algae Grower

Im digging this.. Cube tank, dope rock work and a cleanly wall mounted radion with no visible cord.

For moss

- Mini christmas moss
- Mini pelia
- Weeping moss