The Planted Tank Forum - View Single Post - Evidence of eaten plants right after adding janitor crew
View Single Post
post #1 of (permalink) Old 04-15-2013, 04:58 PM Thread Starter
trailrunner531
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Evidence of eaten plants right after adding janitor crew

First I'll say a happy hello to the forum!

This is probably TMI, but better that than too little. Here's some background, and please take it easy on me, I'm a rookie

My father and I recently started our first aquariums. They are both planted and have been cycling for about 3 weeks. Marineland Kit 20 and Kit 30 respectively. We both opted for adding a very few fish to help cycling. I added 3 red eye tetras to my 20 gallon tank during the first week and they seem to be doing fine. I've been doing liquid water tests every couple of days with the API kit. Ammonia spiked during the first week, then came down as nitrite rose slightly, then both came down to zero and nitrate started climbing gradually. I've shared this with my LFS and compared against cycling profiles described in various online articles, and from what I can tell this is on par and the tank is making good progress with the cycling. The tetras have lived up to their hardy reputation in the presence of the ammonia spike.

During the third week I started to notice some brown spots on the leaves of my jungle val and red wendtii. I thought it might be a disease, but I showed pictures to my LFS and turns out it was only some brown algae. I also had some white stuff that looked like tiny pieces of lint stuck along the tank walls in various places. They recommended I go ahead and add a janitor crew. On their recommendation I bought 1 clown pleco, 3 oto catfish, 1 siamese algae eater, and 1 whisker shrimp (just because I really wanted a shrimp). All of them were added to the tank two days ago after doing a 10% water change.