Newbie confusion: shrimp tank substrate - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-22-2016, 10:51 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Newbie confusion: shrimp tank substrate

Hi everyone. I literally just joined and this is my first post. I am fairly new to the hobby and about to start my first shrimp tank. I currently have a 65 gallon fresh water that has been doing great. Anyways as for the shrimp tank I was told by a local pet store person to use CaribEco complete for the bottom layer and Fluval shrimp and plant substrate on top. I went by his word and bought both. Now after doing more in depth research (I've been planning this tank for about two months) it seems these products don't really go well together. My question is would anything happen if I used it as advised? I don't plan to put any shrimp in the tank for awhile. I want to let it cycle and make sure water parameters are where they should be for the types of shrimp I plan to keep. I do however plan to add some plants. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-22-2016, 11:16 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (12/100%)
Both of these seem to be 'unpopular' in the hobby, at least on this site. Very few people use the Fluval. The Eco complete is popular, sorta, and I haven't heard poor things about it. Just make sure you're on top of the cycle and you'll be fine.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-22-2016, 12:29 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Look up black diamond blasting sand on this site. I recently did and purchased some to cap off my eco-complete. I spent $8.50 instead of around $75. I plan on keeping shrimp in the tank so time will tell.

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-22-2016, 12:30 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (12/100%)