Replacing Gravel With Sand - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-04-2004, 02:29 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Replacing Gravel With Sand

hey i like the look of sand in a planted tank, but my used tank i got a couple months ago already had some (i think is ugly) tannish gravel. i want to take it out and replace it with sand. would this affect the plant's growth? also, should i bag my fish that are in it and keep them floating? i think it would be too hard to take out all of the gravel, so i think i will leave .5-1 inch of the gravel (enough so it doesnt show from the side) and fill the rest with play sand. is play sand ok for freshwater and will it affect Ph, Gh, Kh? also should i mix it with flourite? and how do i do that i have never used it before. thanks a lot - nate
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-04-2004, 04:15 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (65/100%)
Depending on the source of the play sand it could well contain carbonates that would effect your water chemistry. Out here on the left coast play sand is like flour in grain size and not what I would want in my planted tank. If you leave any gravel in the tank it will work it's way to the surface. The smaller particles will always end up on the bottom. And the more you mess with the substrate the more this will happen.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-05-2004, 04:50 PM

I've replaced gravel w/ sand & sand w/ sand by simply using my fishnet and scooping up the stuff (45g, 29g, & 40g tanks). You can get close to all of the stuff out that way. I left the fish swimming in the tank. Didn't loose any fish doing that.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-05-2004, 05:41 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower