Miracle Grow Soil Causing Algae? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-02-2015, 05:13 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Angry Miracle Grow Soil Causing Algae?

I am just getting started with my first tank, and it is outdoors with native plants so in other words simple, cheap, and temporary so I used garden soil I had around; Miracle Grow (same bag only mine says it feeds up to 6 months not 3)

The soil is in clay/ceramic pots topped with tank gravel, I have green algae that grows each day and I have to do a 50% water change daily (I am not dosing). The tank is mostly in the shade with some direct evening sun on my porch, I do not have a nitrate test but all I can think of is the soil is releasing fertilizer in large amounts being submerged? The bags analysis states:
Total nitrogen ........... 0.21%
0.113% ammoniacal nitrogen
0.097% nitrate nitrogen
Available phosphate ... 0.11%
Soluble potash .......... 0.16%

I bought Miracle Grow 'Organic Choice' for my indoor tank to use under gravel trying to save the $ of ADA Aquasoil but even this says it feeds for up to 2 months

This bags analysis states:
Total nitrogen ........... 0.10%
0.002% ammoniacal nitrogen
0.001% nitrate nitrogen
0.097% water insoluble nitrogen (pasteurized poultry litter)
Available phosphate ... 0.05%
Soluble potash .......... 0.05%

Based on the analysis the Organic seems like a MUCH better choice, having less than half the total nitrogen and 97% of the nitrogen is water insoluble. Then the phosphate and potash are also low and equal making it easier to balance my tank, yes? A bag of this is less than $10 from Walmart and ADA Aquasoil is $55 shipped to my door this will be my first indoor tank.

Thank You
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-02-2015, 07:17 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (1/100%)
Miracle grow organic choice is fine to use,many use it.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-02-2015, 09:08 AM