Organic Top soil - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-26-2015, 03:42 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Organic Top soil

Im planning on using top soil only because i bought 2 bags of it already. I heard people sifting their soil before using. is this step a necessary step?

This soil will be have some red clay, and red lava rock mixed into it so it won't be to compact. does this mixture sounds right?

Also, im still new to aqualandscaping so please excuse me for my lack of knowledge.

All this will be put inside a 50Gal. tank with a sunsun 502 canister filter.

-mr.BIG
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-26-2015, 04:01 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (1/100%)
Plenty of folk's use miracle grow organic choice so I see no issue with organic top soil.
I have used both.
Would note that the organic material can give rise to elevated ammonia level's so I would plant heavily from the start while holding off on fishes for a month minimum.
Plant's will rapidly take up the ammonia/ammonium for fuel for growth, but the ammonia might be too much for fishes right away so best to let the tank mature for a bit.
Also would note that too much light,plus ammonia possibly leaching from the soil initially, could result (prolly) in algae bloom.
Lot's of fast growing plant's from the get go will minimize algae.
Can keep or swap out the plant's later.
Best in my view to begin with conservative light period say, 6 hours for a few week's, then up the photo period to eight hour's for a few week's ,then maybe ten hour's if all is going well.
I only sift dirt to get out the wood which could work it's way back to the surface.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-26-2015, 06:06 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower