The kitty litter idea... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-25-2003, 05:22 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Hi all, I'm new to the board. I've been an aquirium hobbyist for 7 years now, and have enjoyed every minute of it. I'm always experimenting and trying new things with both plants and fish. I found this board and saw how friendly people seem to be, and a few mentioned an idea of kitty litter as a substrate. Some have even tried it. So, I decided to join in the experiment. I had a spare tank and figured, hey what's $2.00 for a 25-pound bag of 'Special Kitty' from Wal-mart (remember, ALWAYS use unscented). I also had a bunch of old gravel from my grandmother's tanks after her 'baby' passed away after 8 years. She was so sick when her Koi died. But anyways, back to the subject.

First I started off by pouring about 3 pounds of the dusty, dirty, kitty litter in a 5 gallon bucket to be rinsed. I grabed an old fish net and sifted a little while i filled the bucket with water. after I sifted, I put what I had in the tank that was still in my net. Then I poured the water out of the bucket and repeated this process about 10 times. This stuff gives you a work out.

Anyways, I made about 2 inches of the kitty litter on the bottom, and then I put about a 1 to 1 1/2 inch of gravel on top. I let the water settle overnight so I can see what I'm doing, then I put my plants in. I'm using just Anacharis as of now. I'm just using one flourescent strip light that comes with a 10 gallon hood. Didn't look at the wattage, but I know it's not much. I plan on getting a glass canopy and have two lights, that is my ideal lighting. But as of now , I just want to see how they do with one light in the kitty litter. I'm not putting any fish in for about a week or so since I want to make sure that the water is conditioned. Ill probably only put in some Zebra Danios to cycle the tank.