Dividing sand / Flourite (or some other more plant friendly substrate) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-17-2009, 04:26 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Dividing sand / Flourite (or some other more plant friendly substrate)

Thanks to everyone for having such great threads that every time I try and make one I can usually find other threads about what I am asking.

I am very new to the addic.. err hobby, and I am getting ready to change my near barren (has 4 random plants and a Dwarf lily) 55 gal tank into something more presentable and functional.

I have one 29 gal tank with a (not so dwarf anymore!) Dwarf lily that was my first plant, and a handful of random things that I got to grow from those $3 bulb packages from Petsmart. (This tank will soon be scavenged for the 55 gal and rescaped to be more pleasing to the eye.)

Sorry, back to the 55 gal tank. So I have decided (I think) to seperate the tank into sand, Cory and other bottom feeder friendly, and some type of Flourite or other plant friendly substrate.

My initial thought is to place some plexiglass dividers on the bottom of the tank that are about 3 inches tall, putting the sand about an inch deep on one side and then filling the other side with the flourite. I think I could hide the wall by using small rounded river rocks and make them look sort of like a retaining wall and have a 1-2 inch veritcal change as well as a formal divider between the sandy area and the more gravelly area where the plants will be.

I spent a bit of time in sketchup last night and laid out a basic "floorplan". I'll post a jpg when I get back home. I understand that by regular cleaning the flourite will get out into the sand, but I'm not too broken up about it, and I think that it should be failry easy to clean up with some sort of long turkey baster or I'll build a little scoop