Aquatic Planting Media - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-11-2009, 04:15 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Aquatic Planting Media

I just bought 2 bags this stuff at my local petsmart for $5 each. I'm new to this hobby so not sure if this substrate is a good start for a newly planted tank. Have anyone try this? Any input would be highly appreciated.

Last edited by sinsoi; 06-11-2009 at 07:04 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-11-2009, 06:01 AM
Children Boogie

PTrader: (13/100%)
Yeah, it should be fine. Rinse it first so it doesn't cloud your tank too much.

Don't forget to provide fertilizers & CO2 for the plants. Read up on the articles on this site. Substrate is only part of the equation.

It's funny, I saw this at a local landscaping/pond store for $26 a bag. I laughed at the marked up price.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-11-2009, 02:48 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (84/100%)
This looks pretty good for a substrate, if you like the appearance of it. However, anything that isn't sold to be used in an aquarium may have some surprises waiting for you. At that price you can probably accept a few surprises.

Hoppy

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-12-2009, 04:27 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Still deciding wherever i should stick with my oil-dri substrate or switch to this....
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-12-2009, 01:56 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (3/100%)
I think this is extremely similar to using an Oil-Dri substrate. Both are a fractionated, kiln-baked clay product, both with high CEC capacity.
Depending on which Oil-Dri product you have, the difference may be in color and grain size.