Best Substrate for Low tech/light tank? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-22-2009, 09:23 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Best Substrate for Low tech/light tank?

I just got a 50 gallon (they say) tank from Freecycle. Seems to hold water, so I am planning on starting my first planted tank.

Since I am new to this, I am trying to mostly do the most basic but also a very practical set up. There are a lot of options,so I am getting confused as to which will work for me.

I want a natural looking substrate- something that sort of mimics river stones/gravel (maybe a little darker than the average river stone gravel to bring out the colorof the fish...)

What would you reccommend as something that will look nice, be good for low light plants growth, and not kill my wallet?

Tell me what you like or dislike and why!
Thanks!!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-23-2009, 12:50 AM
Banned

PTrader: (19/100%)
My response doesn't answer what is best for your setup. I want to show you some examples and colors. There is a bunch of info here, but there are many choices available.

Pool filter sand is an inexpensive choice. The color can vary from whitish to beige and maybe a little darker to brownish or reddish. Check out the Red Flint brand. They have one for aquaiums.

Carib Sea has many varieties. Super Natural Instant Aquarium Cichlid Dry Mix Planted Aquarium (There has been quality issues over the years with Eco-Complete, but there has been times when it was good.)

Seachem has some good planted aquarium substrates. They are a bit dusty from the shipping and handling.

Estes' has a lot of colors.

3M ColorQuartz

Mineralized substrate. There are several threads about it in the substrate section and it is listed in the Swap n Shop for purchase.
Kits w/soil: https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sw...-included.html
Kits w/o soil: https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sw...ay-potash.html