Just sand? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-17-2004, 09:49 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Just sand?

Hi everyone...

While I'm new to this forum I have some experience with planted tanks. I have used laterite, big gravel, small river gravel and fluorite in the past with several degrees of success depending on the substrate and my experience. In this new tank, t first I thought about using fluorite and sand (per Buck's recipe...) but I do not want to find the sand in the bottom eventually as some people have reported.

So, I was wondering about using just sand and would like to listen from those who have gone this way.

I am about to set up a 20H tank with 2x65 watts & CO2 DIY supplementation.

Any input would be highly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-17-2004, 10:47 PM
Are these real?

PTrader: (194/100%)
Welcome to the Planted Tank!

Even though sand looks pretty in pictures, it is difficult to clean and keep clean, difficult to plant larger plants with positive buoyancy in it, and since it is sterile, has a low CEC, and allows for no nutrient exchange due to its tight packing it is a difficult substrate for plants too.

On the other hand, many ppl use it with good results! I am sure some will post them here as well.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-17-2004, 11:30 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (13/100%)
Send a message via AIM to cookingnerd607 Send a message via Yahoo to cookingnerd607
I too would like to go to sand in my rebuilt 20l, but was not sure if it was a decent method for growing plants.

post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-18-2004, 07:32 AM
Planted Tank VIP